The third  public speaking competition for schools in Lanarkshire, organised by the Lanarkshire Lieutenancy,   was held on 8th October 2021  at the  Town House, Hamilton   with the following schools taking part:

Biggar High School

Chryston High School

St Ambrose High School  , Coatbridge

St Andrew’s  and St Bride’s  High School , East Kilbride

The South Lanarkshire Instrumental Music Service  opened  and closed  proceedings providing excellent musical entertainment for everyone present . 

In the public speaking competition three pupils from each team    spoke on the subject of ” Citizens in our Schools and Community ” and then answered questions posed by two pupils from another team .

The judging panel was chaired by Lord Hugh Matthews , Senator of the College of Justice and also included :

Honourable Lady Rita Rae , Rector of Glasgow University and former Senator of the College of Justice  ;

Doctor Donald Reid , MB ChB MD FRCS ;

Mary McAllan , Director of Economic Development , Scottish Government  ; and

Shirley Bartynek , Deputy Editor of the Hamilton Advertiser .

The standards  achieved by all schools taking part were again   exceptional focussing on the importance of citizenship and the benefits of immigration to the country .  Winners of the trophy were St Andrew’s and St Bride’s High School  from East Kilbride  .

Congratulations again to the four schools taking part in this third  competition ,  all of the pupils participating  should be very proud of their achievements and they were certainly all a credit to their respective schools 


Special thanks are due to South Lanarkshire Council for hosting the event , master of ceremonies Sheriff Robert Dickson DL , organiser John McKenzie DL, the judging panel  , the South Lanarkshire Instrumental Music Service  and  education staff who all worked so well as a team contributing to the success of the event .

Cover photograph shows the winning team from St Andrew’s and St Bride’s High with their trophy along with members of the other teams taking part , the judging panel and the Provosts of North and South Lanarkshire Councils . Photo courtesy of Douglas McKendrick – Hamilton Advertiser .

The winning team from St Andrew’s and St Bride’s High School along with Vice Lord Lieutenant , Gavin Whitefield , Chair of the Judging Panel Lord Matthews and Provost of South Lanarkshire Council Ian McAllan .



Posted by Gavin Whitefield