New Year Honours List – 2019

The New Year Honours List for 2019 recognises the achievements and service of people across the United Kingdom .

Her Majesty the Queen has recognised a number of residents of Lanarkshire in the 2019 – New Year Honour List . Many congratulations to the following :


Professor Thomas William Smith . Head of Jazz, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland , Artistic Director, Scottish National Jazz Orchestra – For services to Education and Jazz Music  (Tillietudlum , Lanarkshire )


Charles Edwin Irwin – For services to Beekeeping and to the Community in Glasgow  (Chryston, Lanarkshire )

John Lammond Lindsay – For public and political service (Biggar, South Lanarkshire )

Margaret Scott McCluskey – For services to the community in North Lanarkshire (Airdrie , Lanarkshire)



Elizabeth Tennent Brown Wilson – Chair Uddingston Pride – For services to the community in Uddingston , South Lanarkshire  (Uddingston , Lanarkshire )


Queen’s Police Medal – QPM

Nelson Telfer – Formerly Assistant Chief Constable – Police Scotland (Carluke , South Lanarkshire)


Posted by Gavin Whitefield